Time to learn some Spanish!

Standard

We were off to Kirsten’s Bolivian home town. She had been staying here for a month trying to learn some Spanish and I thought it was probably time for me to give it a go. We stayed at a really nice hostel called 7 Patas hostel ($8 a night) and signed up to do some lessons with a guy called Vecinte. He was a private teacher that came to the hostel and only charged $10 per hour (maybe less). Most people in Sucre are there to learn some Spanish. There are so many Spanish schools and it is one of the cheapest places in South America to learn. My lessons went ok but to be honest my heart wasn’t in it and I didn’t want to be in school while I was on my holiday (I later came to regret this).

The market in Sucre has to be one of my favourites. It is pretty much just for food but the variety of food is amazing! You can also get and awesome Chorizo sandwich there and it is all so cheap. I am not much of a cook so I can’t say I shopped here too often but two guys at our hostel used to make the most gourmet meals. One night we had family dinner night and they cooked a huge thing of chorizo spaghetti and garlic bread and salad which came to a total of ($4) each. Def handy for the budget traveller.

The other cool thing to visit in Sucre is the cemetery. A bit morbid I know, but they are very different to cemeteries at home with everyone being buried in a mausoleum or crypt. Each little window is heavily decorated and it is pretty cool to walk around and see the different types.

But my favourite thing in Sucre has to be the Road Crossing Zebras! Carolina explained them to me as a way to get people to follow the road rules. They walk around and stop traffic so people can cross the street and if someone isn’t following the rules they make a big deal about it and embarrass the person. Carolina said “No one wants to be embarrassed by the zebras so we all follow the rules!”

Road safety Zebra!!

Road safety Zebra!!

Fruit section at the Sucre Market

Fruit section at the Sucre Market

Cheese Section at the Market

Cheese Section at the Market

Cemetery

Cemetery

Leave a Reply

